‹ Back

Signatories to the Punta del Este Declaration on Human Dignity for Everyone Everywhere
December 10, 2018


Rodrigo Vitorino Souza Alves (Brazil) – Director, Brazilian Center of Studies in Law and Religion
Kristina Arriaga (United States) – Vice Chair, United States Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF)
Carmen Asiaín Pereira (Uruguay) – Alternate Senator, Parliament of Uruguay; Professor of Law and Religion, University of Montevideo
Paul Babie (Australia) –  Director, Law and Religion Project, Research Unit for the Study of Society, Ethics, and Law, Adelaide
Thomas C. Berg (United States) – James L. Oberstar Professor of Law and Public Policy, University of St. Thomas School of Law
Heiner Bielefeldt (Germany) – Professor of Human Rights and Human Rights Policy, University of Erlangen; Former UN Special Rapporteur for Freedom of Religion or Belief
Ana María Celis Brunet (Chile) – Associate Professor, Center for Law and Religion, Faculty of Law, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile; President, National Council of the Chilean Church for the Prevention of Sexual Abuse and Accompaniment of Victims
S. David Colton (United States) – Chair, International Advisory Council, International Center for Law and Religion Studies
Fadi Daou (Lebanon) – Chair and CEO, Adyan Foundation, Beirut
Ganoune Diop  (United States) – Secretary General, International Religious Liberty Association
Gary B. Doxey  (United States) – Associate Director, International Center for Law and Religion Studies
Thomas David DuBois (China) – Visiting Research Fellow, Fudan University Development Institute, Shanghai
W. Cole Durham, Jr.  (United States) – Founding Director, International Center for Law and Religion Studies
Boris Falikov (Russia) – Associate Professor, Russian State University for the Humanities
Alessandro Ferrari (Italy) – Associate Professor, Department of Law, Economy, and Cultures, University of Insubria
Silvio Ferrari (Italy) – Emeritus Professor of Canon Law, University of Milan; Founder and Honorary Life President, International Consortium for Law and Religion Studies
Ján Figeľ (Slovakia) – Special Envoy for the Promotion of Freedom of Religion or Belief Outside the EU
T. Jeremy Gunn (Morocco) – Professor of Law and Political Science, International University of Rabat
Charles Haynes (United States) – Vice President, Freedom Forum Institute / Religious Freedom Center; Senior Scholar, First Amendment Center
Mark Hill QC (United Kingdom) – Professor, Centre for Law and Religion, Cardiff University
Gabriel Gonzáles Merlano (Uruguay) – Professor and Coordinator of the Humanities, Universidad Católica del Uruguay
Muhammed Haron (Botswana) – Professor, Department of Theology and Religious Studies, University of Botswana
Scott E. Isaacson  (United States) – Senior Fellow and Regional Advisor for Latin America, International Center for Law and Religion Studies
Merilin Kiviorg (Estonia) – Senior Research Fellow in Public International Law and Human Rights, University of Tartu Faculty of Law
Douglas Laycock (United States) – Robert E. Scott Distinguished Professor of Law and Professor of Religious Studies, the University of Virginia
Tore Lindholm (Norway) – Emeritus Professor, Norwegian Centre for Human Rights, University of Oslo
Nikos Maghioros (Greece) – Assistant Professor of Canon and Ecclesiastical Law, Faculty of Theology, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Tahir Mahmood (India) – Distinguished Jurist Chair & Professor of Eminence, Faculty of Law, Amity University
Kishan Manocha (Poland) – Senior Adviser on Freedom of Religion or Belief, OSCE / ODIHR
Javier Martínez-Torrón (Spain) – Director, Department of Law and Religion, Complutense University Madrid School of Law
Nicholas Miller (United States) – Director, International Religious Liberty Institute, Andrews University
Dato’ Dr. Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin (Malaysia) – Associate Professor, Universiti Sains Malaysia; Mufti of Perlis
Juan G. Navarro Floria (Argentina) – Professor of Law, Pontificia Universidad Catòlica Argentina
Jaclyn L. Neo (Singapore) – Assistant Professor of Law, National University of Singapore Faculty of Law; Deputy Director, Asian Law Institute
Ewelina Ochab (United Kingdom) – Author of Never Again: Legal Responses to a Broken Promise in the Middle East
Norberto Padilla (Argentina) – President, Latin American Consortium for Religious Liberty
Patrick Parkinson (Australia) – Dean of Law, TC Beirne School of Law, The University of Queensland
Fabio Petito (United Kingdom / Italy) – Senior Lecturer in International Relations, University of Sussex; Scientific Co-ordinator, Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs–ISPI initiative on Religions and International Relations
Peter Petkoff (United Kingdom) – Director of Religion, Law and International Relations Programme, Regent’s Park College, Oxford; Law Lecturer, Brunel Law School
Andrea Pin (Italy) – Lecturer in Comparative Law, University of Padua
Clelia Piperno (Italy) – Professor of Comparative Constitutional Law, University of Teramo
Ann Power-Forde (Ireland) – Human Rights Jurist
Gerhard Robbers (Germany) – Emeritus Professor, University of Trier; Former Minister of Justice and Consumer Protection of Rhineland-Palatinate
Neville Rochow SC (Australia) – Barrister/Board Member, University of Adelaide Research Unit for Society, Law and Religion
Melissa Rogers (United States) – Nonresident Senior Fellow in Governance Studies, The Brookings Institution
Hans Ingvar Filip Roth (Sweden) – Professor of Human Rights, Stockholm University Institute for Turkish Studies (SUITS)
Vanja-Ivan Savić (Croatia) –  Associate Professor, Department for Legal Theory, University of Zagreb, Faculty of Law
Brett G. Scharffs  (United States) – Director, International Center for Law and Religion Studies
Chris Seiple (United States) – President Emeritus, Institute for Global Engagement
Dicky Sofjan (Indonesia) – Indonesian Consortium for Religious Studies, Graduate School, Universitas Gadja Mada
Pinghua Sun (China) – Professor, China University of Political Science and Law
Katrina Lantos Swett (United States) – President, Lantos Foundation for Human Rights & Justice ; Former Chair, United States Commission on International Religious Freedom
Nayla Tabbara (Lebanon) – Director, Institute of Citizenship and Diversity Management, Adyan Foundation
Eiichiro Takahata (Japan) – Professor of Law, Nihon University College of Law, Tokyo
Jeroen Temperman (Netherlands) – Professor of Public International Law, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Rik Torfs (Belgium) – Chair, Faculty of Canon Law, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Renáta Uitz (Hungary) – Chair (Director), Comparative Constitutional Law Program, Department of Legal Studies, Central European University
Juan Martin Vives (Argentina) – Director, Center for Studies on Law and Religion, Universidad Adventista del Plata
Dmytro Vovk (Ukraine) – Director, Center for Rule of Law and Religion Studies, Yaroslav the Wise National Law University
Robin Fretwell Wilson  (United States) – Director, Program in Family Law and Policy, Illinois State University